Get a site

Venezia 2015: the winners

“Leone d’oro” (Golden Lion): ‘Desde allá’ (From afar), by Lorenzo Vigas (Venezuela).
“Coppa Volpi” for the best female interpretation: Valeria Golino (‘Per Amor Vostro‘, by Giuseppe Gaudino).
Silver Lion for the best direction: Pablo Tapero (‘El Clan’, Argentina).
“Leone del futuro” (Lion of the future): ‘The Childhood of a Leader‘, by Brady Corbet (United Kingdom, Hungary).
Best screenplay: Christian Vincent (‘L’Hermine‘, directed by him).
Mastroianni Award: the little Abraham Attah (‘Beasts of no nation‘, by Cary Joji Fukunaga.
Grand Award of the Jury: ‘Anomalisa‘, animation film by Charlie Kaufman and Duke Johnson.
Special Jury Award: ‘Abluka (Frenzy)‘, by Emin Alper (Turkey).

Best Film: ‘Free in deed‘, by Jake Mahaffy (USA, New Zealand);
Best director: Brady Corbet (‘The childhood of a leader‘, United Kingdom / Hungary);
Special Orizzonti Jury Award: ‘Boi Neon‘ (NEON BULL), by Gabriel Mascaro (Brazil, Uruguay, Netherlands);
Best interpretation: Dominique Leborne, in ‘Tempête‘, by Samuel Collardey;
Best Short Film: ‘Belladonna‘, by Dubravka Turic (Croatia)
 Venice Short Film Nomination for the European Film Awards 2015: ‘E.T.E.R.N.I.T.‘ by Giovanni Aloi (France)


Best Documentary on Cinema: ‘THE 1000 EYES OF DR. MADDIN’, by Yves Montmayeur (France);
Best Restored Film: ‘Salò o le 120 giornate di Sodoma’, by Pier Paolo Pasolini (1975, Italy, France);
Lifetime Golden Lion 2015: Bertrand Tavernier;

Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker Award 2015: Brian De Palma;
 Persol Tribute to Visionary Talent Award 2015: Jonathan Demme;
L’Oréal Paris Award for Cinema: Valeria Bilello;
SIGNIS Special Mention: ‘L’Attesa‘, by Piero Messina (Italy).
SIGNIS Prize: ‘Behemoth (Beixi moshuo)‘, by Zhao Lang (China).
Venice Days Awards:
Authors Days Award: ‘Early Winter’ (Michael Rowe, Canada). 
BNL – BNP Paribas Awards: ‘À Peine J’ouvre Les Yeux – As I Open My Eyes’ (Leyla Bouzid, France, Tunisia, Belgium, Emirates).
“Schermi di Qualità – Carlo Mazzacurati” (“Quality Screen” Award) ‘Non essere cattivo’ by Claudio Caligari.
Fedeora Awards
Best European film: ‘Francofonia’, by Alexander Sokurov
Best newcomer director: Ruchika Oberoi (‘Island city’);
Best newcomer actress: Ondina Quadri, ARIANNA;
Film Rating Week (settimana della Critica -CRITICS’ WEEK)
Best Film:’Underground Fragrance‘ (Pengfei – France / China)
First time director: Ruchika Oberoi, (‘Island City‘ – India)
First time actress: Ondina Quadri (‘Arianna‘ – Italy)Best film: KALO POTHI by Bahadur Bham Min;
Best cinematography: Benthey Dean, ‘TANNA’;
Best Cinematography: Tanna’, by Bentley Dean and Martin Butler;
30th Week of the Film Rating (Settimana Internazionale della Critica);
Public Award Pietro Barzisa:’Tanna’, by Bentley Dean and Martin Butler;
Laguna Sud Awards
Best film: ‘Lolo‘ (Julie Delpy – France)
Best Italian Discovery: ‘Arianna‘ (Carlo Lavagna – Italy);
As for the web, “Golden Mouse” went to ‘Rabin, the Last Day‘, by Amos Gitai;
“Silver Mouse”: ‘Spotlight‘, by Tom McCarthy;
“Queer Lion”: ‘The Danish Girl‘, by Tom Hooper; (special mention to ‘Baby Bump‘, by Kuba Czekaj).
SNCGI awards:
best film: ‘Non essere cattivo‘, by Claudio Caligari;
best actor: Luca Marinelli’ (‘Non essere cattivo‘);
newcomer award: Alessandro Borghi (‘Non essere cattivo‘);
best actress: Valeria Golino (‘Per amor vostro‘);
Special Pasinetti awards: Vincenzo Marra and Riccardo Scamarcio, director and star of ‘La prima luce‘.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: